Step Into My World…

Archive for January 22, 2012

Road Trip!! Part 2…

Hey!

So continuing on from my original post about the Road Trip I went on… here’s part two!

I arrived at my cousin’s house late… took something like an hour and a half longer than it should have. Making my road trip from Toowoomba to Bundaberg something like 7 and a half hours long. Thankfully they were so nice and waited for me to show up before digging into the BBQ they’d prepared! Oopsieeee 😛 The next day, Tuesday the 20th was pretty chillaxed just hanging out with the cousins and so was the Wednesday. Actually having said that Matt badly burnt his hand and I don’t know what pain killers he took but he was off his face!! LOL! On Wednesday night however I decided to stay with my auntie who was living near by to my cousin’s place. Auntie Paula and my cousins Matt and Dan had moved in with Auntie Judy and her son Isaac… and Auntie Judy’s daughter Sarah and Sarah’s boyfriend came to stay a few days so it was a full house!!

Wednesday night was really where the start of a long list of ridiculous adventures started. We all played a round in the pool, it’s still warm all night long to jump in the pool, and made whirlpools and tried to wrestle each other off our “partners” shoulders. I find it creepy when someone grabs my feet in a swimming pool so of course Matt constantly tried to grab my feet. After the pool we watched “Tomorrow When The War Began” and just as we were rounding up the evening to had to bed Auntie Paula told us “We have no toilet paper, no tissues, no nothing to wipe our butts.” So Dan, Matt and I jumped in the car and went trooping around the streets at 1am to find a petrol station that was still open and selling toilet paper.

Thankfully the only open petrol station was indeed selling toilet paper. Dan parked the car and went to buy some. Since it was late he had to go to the little counter outside and not go inside. So he asks for toilet paper and tries to pay on his mum’s card which was declined. But as the transaction was being authorised (before it was declined) the lady was trying to shove the toilet paper through the tiniest little hole at the counter. Dan was like “Mate, you’re going to have to open th doors and let me come in!” … Hmmm dodgy. So then the card gets declined and he comes back to the car and get’s another one of his mum’s cards but this time the pin isn’t working. The service lady looked at him and asked “Is this your card?” and Dan’s like “No it’s my mum’s” and she’s all like “Well you’re going to have to call her and get the pin.” And Dan goes “I don’t have a phone.” So she just looks at him like “I’m not sure I’m believing anything your saying” and slowly slides the card back across the counter with one finger and not takin her eyes off him. AWKWARD. So Dan gets back in the car and is like “Let’s get out of here before the cops come.” I’m like, “Guys I have cash drop me off, park somewhere she wont see you and I’ll get the toilet paper.” Ironically we were all needing the toilet at this point and so no toilet paper really wasn’t an option! But Dan was like “Nah! I’ve got nothing to hide” So he drives literally right up to the window and left just enough room for me to squeeze out and stand at the counter. How’s that for making a statement :S Haha. Did I mention that Dan is 17 and Matt is 18? We eventually got the toilet paper.

Thursday we decided to head on up to Agnes Waters to visit one of our cousin’s Alyce. Agnes is right next to Town of 1770 where Captain Cook first landed. It’s a super small town and in many respects under developed in terms of tourism which I personally think is great because you still get a good feel for the landscape and what it must have been like when Captain Cook first arrived there. Anyways the trip was about an hour and a half and mainly on what we would call “country roads.” I have to confess I was quite naughty and was doing 140km in a 100km zone and I shot past a cop car. Argh!! I didn’t get caught but I did learn my lesson! When we arrived Alyce had this epic Chinese meal for us!! And the best part of it was we chilled out eating it on the kitchen floor! I love it how we’re all older now, have our own places and can just hang out like this. I love the aunties and uncles but it’s just different to hang out with just the cousins.

When I was 9 and Alyce was 7 I told her this scary China Doll story and since she had about 50 dolls at that time I seriously traumatized both of us LOL. Auntie Judy, her mum, found out about this story and lined up three of the biggest dolls with knives in the bedroom so that when we walked in we got a super big fright. It was pretty hilarious and it’s been a running joke between us. Anyways, after dinner Alyce showed us a doll that had GREEN eyes!! Needless to say we all knew that doll would be a prank item for the next few days. After chatting for a while we snuck in to a nearby pool and went swimming but once the rain came in there was a bit of a 10pm chill and we all got super cold. We quickly drove back to Alyce’s fighting the whole way as to who’s going in the shower first to warm up… So we resolved it by jumping in there all together!

That night Matt and I were sharing the share room and Dan was sleeping on a blow up bed in the kitchen and I said “Matt!! We have to ge the doll and put it on the bed next to Dan!” So Matt put the doll next to Dan and ran back in the room. Dan not long after rolled over, saw the doll and was like “Screw this I’m not sleeping next to that thing” and put it in the FRIDGE! The next morning Alyce found the doll and moved it to the bathroom with a knife in its hand. Dan woke up and was all like “Alyce, did you find the doll?” and Alyce pretended she didn’t know what he was talking about which freaked Dan out a little. Dan, Matt and I all found the doll on separate occasions when we walked into the bathroom giving us all a bit of a shock haha.

After the whole doll pranking we chilled and then went for a walk. The look out was really nice but the climb down the cliff wasn’t haha. I broke my shoes :S Gutted. The rain started coming in again so we headed back to Alyce’s. We talked for quite while about Mike and I share our story which they didn’t know the details of. Since we were driving back to Bundaberg that afternoon we headed off around 5.30pm but got as far as the corner of her street because we stopped for food. Matt, Dan and I sat eating chips for about an hour and as we did the sky got darker and rain got heavier. Eventually at 7pm I was like “We have to go.” I’ve never driven in tropical rain before and I was really struggling to see through the night’s darkness and rain. I looked at the boys and went “Guys, are you ok if this takes us 3 hours to get back cos I aint going above 40km!” Even at 40 kph I could feel my back wheels slide out a couple of times. The rain was so heavy it looked like the road was a shallow river. I ran over about a hundred frogs, a possum and what we think was a giant rat. It’s not like I could have avoided it because any sort of breaking on that road could have been more dangerous!! It was all a bit intense haha.

After about an hour of driving on the super bumpy road I pulled over and said “Boys, I desperately need to pee” and jumped out the car. Now if you know me I would never do that unless it was to the point of peeing myself. I find it trippy to pee “in front” of people like this. But I didn’t trust the boys so I walked to the back of the car and then to the backdoor, opened it, pointed my figure at them and yelled “DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT LOOKING AT ME!” It felt like the longest wee ever and when I got back in the car Dan said “I was so tempted to get in the driver’s seat and drive off leaving your white butt in the review mirror.” I’m so glad they didn’t.

What should have taken about 90 minutes to drive took about 2 and a half hours by the time we pulled into the drive way of Auntie Judy’s. We walked in the door and Auntie Judy came racing through the house towards us in a panicked voice “Boys your mother has been rushed to hospital she’s sliced her hand open or something when she was cutting food.” So we jumped back into the car, this time Auntie Paula’s car, and Dan drove us to the hospital. On the way he pulled into a petrol station to buy flowers but bought a teddy instead. He pulled out the service station and because he was completely distracted he ran a red light. Now, there is not a single car on this entire looooooong stretch of road apart from a cop car that was trying to do a U-Turn at that same junction that we just ran. So of course, the lights and siren go on and we get pulled over…

Part Three Coming Soon!!!

♪ Fallin Down Domino… ♪